Ammo cost & supply in the UK ?

New to the sport? Or just not sussed something out yet? Please ask your questions in here, there are many experienced shooters on the forum and someone will for sure come along and answer your question. This is a section for new shooters so if anyone can think of something please submit it.

Moderator: dromia

froggy
Home club or Range: HPRP (UK) + Corsaires Malouins (France) + Czech Rep

Ammo cost & supply in the UK ?

#1 Post by froggy »

Salut,

I am a newbie shooter in this country and currently filling-up my firearms application. I am pondering over which full-bore calibers I should apply for. I dont intend to do something too fancy, ie : 200 to 600 meters with both iron sights & scope. There is a very wide range of rifles stuitable for that purpose that I like . So ammo price & regular supply will be a strong decisive factor in selecting a couple of calibers as I do not intend to re-load.

I am looking mainly at 7.62x51, 7.62x54, 7.5x55 and of course your national 303 !! (I have wanted one of those "pig nose" smle since I was reading ww2 comics as a kid ...).
I dont know at all the ammo market and its suppliers in the UK . So concidering both the commercial manufactured & surplus stuff, can you please help me and guide me to what you think is the most economical & easily available caliber ?

In France it is very easy from a licenced shooter to obtain an authorisation from the Customs Office to buy & import ammo from abroad. Is it the same in England or a big no-no ?

Many thanks for sharing your experience.
Want to shoot pistol ? Don't retreat... reload & run forward !!
http://dynamicshootingcz.co.uk/
Mike357
Home club or Range: NRA, Bisley, Dundee Rifle & Pistol Club & Bishop Auckland GC

Re: Ammo cost & supply in the UK ?

#2 Post by Mike357 »