Coating Chipping/Flaking

24" and less, a place to discuss all things handgun related, section 7.3. Long barrelled revolvers, long barrelled pistols and section 5. Overseas contributions are more than welcome.

Moderator: dromia

squatman86

Coating Chipping/Flaking

#1 Post by squatman86 »

Hi there,

I have a brand new Chiappa Rhino Long Barrel Revolver in 9mm.

From purchase it has dark rings on the far face of the cylinder (see photos) I was told this was from proofing.

When I got home and gave it a clean, I still haven't managed to get rid of the dark rings fully, but it has exposed chipping/flaking of the surface (see photos).

I've been in touch with the firearms dealer who told me:

" This is typical of revolvers as the blast from the cartridge upon ignition vents in this gap – this can cause tiny nicks and burrs. "

This is my first revolver and I'm relatively new to owning firearms in general, so I have two questions please.

Do I need to clean the dark circles, will they cause problems over time?
Is the firearms dealer correct and this will likely happen again if I was to replace?
I can just see the chipping getting worse and even making it's way onto the side of the cylinder which would look pretty nasty.

Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Attachments
cyl3.png
cyl2.jpg
cyl1.jpg
squatman86

Re: Coating Chipping/Flaking

#2 Post by squatman86 »

Could only attach 3 images so just replying with 4th.
Attachments
cyl4.png
FredB
Site Supporter Since 2019
Home club or Range: stourport

#3 Post by FredB »

The dark circles appear to be from the heat treatment of the cylinder bores to harden them.Probably induction hardening.
Fred
Chapuis

#4 Post by Chapuis »