New to shooting - any guidance about cleaning .22 LR?

All things rimfire including target, benchrest, hunters, semi autos and plinkers.

Moderator: dromia

etonwick
Home club or Range: NRA, Bisley

New to shooting - any guidance about cleaning .22 LR?

#1 Post by etonwick »

Hi Guys,

I'm completely new to rifle shooting so please excuse if this sounds naive. Does anyone have any advice about rifle cleaning .22 LR? I've used shotguns for years and the general practice I've always adopted is to clean thoroughly after every session, including scrubbing the barrel with a phosphor-bronze brush. Aim has always been to leave the bore completely bright and clean. Is the same true for a bolt action .22?
Cheers

etonwick

"A buck in books saves a grand in stupid!" - Mark Novak, Gunsmith.
dodgyrog
Site Supporter Since 2015
Home club or Range: Three Counties Sporting Club & Gardners Guns

Re: New to shooting - any guidance about cleaning .22 LR?

#2 Post by dodgyrog »

To be honest if my .22's get cleaned once a year that's a lot. Accuracy doesn't drop off (for me at least)
You might want to clean a new rifle a few times to get the barrel up to spec
Purveyor of fine cast boolits.
All round good guy and VERY grumpy old man.
mag41uk
Home club or Range: Aldershot R & P Club

#3 Post by mag41uk »

I cant remember when I last "cleaned" the barrels on my 22`s. The last thing I would put down them is a phosphor brush. You shouldnt be getting any fouling in a 22 barrel.
strangesam
Home club or Range: Invicta Bristol, Frome and District PC

#4 Post by strangesam »

I clean the chamber of my semi-auto .22s, (and bolt face, receiver etc) fairly regularly (~500 rounds), but the most the barrel gets is an oiled pull through once in a blue moon.

The bolt action .22s don't even get that really, unless the fouling gets very bad (1000s of rounds)

I do oil the outside of certain guns, as otherwise my fingerprints go rusty.
Alpha1
Site Supporter Since 2020

#5 Post by Alpha1 »