Novelist Seeking Gun Assistance

24" and less, a place to discuss all things handgun related, section 7.3. Long barrelled revolvers, long barrelled pistols and section 5. Overseas contributions are more than welcome.

Moderator: dromia

Union St

Novelist Seeking Gun Assistance

#1 Post by Union St »

Good morning everyone. I'm just beginning my third book, a novel, and the protagonist requires a Belgium handgun in 1962.
Well, it turns out the Belgians make a lot of guns, which I was unaware.
I was thinking of using the FN Model 1910. I also need it to jam upon firing.
Do you think this gun would be reasonably available in 1962, and is there any chance of it jamming?

Any assistance gratefully acknowledged.
Thank you.
Sim G
Past Supporter

Re: Novelist Seeking Gun Assistance

#2 Post by Sim G »

In the 1960s semi auto handguns were not as reliable as they were today. Slight design changes and more consistent ammunition changed that over the coming decades. The FN 1910 was a very popular pistol and available all over the world. Used by civilians, police and military alike. It was the pistol used to assassinate Arch Duke Ferdinand and a s*** load of Nazis! They were really nice pistols, but not what would be regarded as a “serious weapon”.
In 1978 I was told by my grand dad that the secret to rifle accuracy is, a quality bullet, fired down a quality barrel..... How has that changed?

Guns dont kill people. Dads with pretty Daughters do...!
bnz41
Site Supporter Since 2016
Home club or Range: NRA Bisley

#3 Post by bnz41 »

Hi the FN Browning 1910 to give it it's full title was manufactured between these dates 1910–1983 not in full production but available so yes you could get one in 1962.