First Fullbore Rifle

Anything Fullbore rifle related, Hunting, Target, Match.

Moderator: dromia

Pippin89
Home club or Range: Chichester Rifle and Pistol Club

First Fullbore Rifle

#1 Post by Pippin89 »

Hi All

FAC application going in next month. What would you recommend as a first fullbore? I have all the others decided but not this one. My budget for it will be around £500 second hand as my theory is to not spend too much until I have some experience of owning one and know what I like and don't like etc.... More funds are available though if it would be a bad idea to shop in this price range!

It will be used for prone target shooting which my club does on the Bisley ranges. 7.62 is the recommendation of the club and the ammo that they stock so would like to stick with this for now.
Site Supporter Since 2015

Re: First Fullbore Rifle

#2 Post by 1066 »

Something very "run of the mill" would get you started. Parker Hale T4, PH 1200. Just note, if you're shooting prone TR some of these rifles are offered without suitable sights.

http://www.byswordandmusket.co.uk/fac-r ... get-rifle/

https://www.gunstar.co.uk/parker-hale-1 ... es/1115091
TARGETMASTER
an altogether better trickler
www.targetmasteruk.com
Sim G
Past Supporter

#3 Post by Sim G »

Howa. Undoubtably as a "first". Accurate, well made, freely available in a plethora of configurations and cheap! And personally, I'd go .223. You'll lose nothing up to 600 and you'll learn to read the ind like a demon! Cheaper and easier on the shoulder as well....
In 1978 I was told by my grand dad that the secret to rifle accuracy is, a quality bullet, fired down a quality barrel..... How has that changed?

Guns dont kill people. Dads with pretty Daughters do...!
Pippin89

#4 Post by Pippin89 »