Next Purchase

All things rimfire including target, benchrest, hunters, semi autos and plinkers.

Moderator: dromia

CraigH
Site Supporter Since 2019
Home club or Range: Mayfair Sunderland

Next Purchase

#1 Post by CraigH »

Hi All

Recently acquired FAC and immediately ran out and bought myself a CZ 452 (which I love).

I'm now considering my next purchase and I'm torn between a GSG 1911 and a Smith & Wesson 15-22 - I know it's subjective and they're both vey different, but as I've never tried either I'm looking for opinions. If you have tried/owned both:

Which one puts the bigger smile on your face?
If you're heading to range which one of the two would you grab first?
Which is the most reliable?
Which is the easier of the two to maintain?

Reasons for the last 2 are I'm still very new to all this and not too confident on the maintenance side (but eager to learn)

Any suggestions gratefully received!
kevinww

Re: Next Purchase

#2 Post by kevinww »

Just checking as its not clear in the way you have posed the question, but you do know the GSG1911 will require a specific LBP slot on your ticket and can't be acquired on a 22LR rifle slot.
CraigH

#3 Post by CraigH »

kevinww wrote:Just checking as its not clear in the way you have posed the question, but you do know the GSG1911 will require a specific LBP slot on your ticket and can't be acquired on a 22LR rifle slot.
Hi Kevin - Well spotted - should have mentioned, I have spare slots for Semi Auto .22lr and .22lr LBP ( If I had the spare cash I would get both!)

Cheers!
Rockhopper

#4 Post by Rockhopper »

Friend of mine has a GSG1911, it’s goes bang each time you squeeze the trigger which is a plus point but it’s so inaccurate that he gets no pleasure from shooting it.
DaveB
Home club or Range: Wellington Service Rifle Assocaition; NZ Deerstalkers Association; Wairarapa Pistol & Shooting Sports Club

#5 Post by DaveB »