Home Office Guide on Firearms Licensing Law Nov 2021

Anything shooting related including law and procedure questions.

Moderator: dromia

Forum rules
Should your post be in Grumpy Old Men? This area is for general shooting related posts only please.
spikedueller
Home club or Range: Minsterly

Home Office Guide on Firearms Licensing Law Nov 2021

#1 Post by spikedueller »

I saw on a different forum that the latest Home Office guide on Firearms Licensing Law has just been published.
https://assets.publishing.service.gov.u ... __002_.pdf

I hope I'm wrong but they've appeared to have put all expanding ammunition and bullets back to section 5, see page 29 onwards. Hopefully this is a bad cut and paste mistake or am I reading this wrong?
daman
Site Supporter 2021
Home club or Range: HRPC, NRA, BASC, BDS, Larbert, UKPSA

Re: Home Office Guide on Firearms Licensing Law Nov 2021

#2 Post by daman »

If I'm reading it correctly (I am not a lawyer), then you can still acquire expanding ammo if you have good reason. i.e. for deer or vermin but not for target shooting:

3.39 Section 5A(4) of the 1968 Act (as amended by section 10 of the 1997 Act) states
that authority is not required for shooters to possess etc. expanding ammunition or
expanding bullets prohibited by sections 5(1A)(f) and (g) providing they have
firearm certificates or visitors’ permits authorising their use in connection with four
specific activities. These activities are:
i. the lawful shooting of deer;
ii. shooting of vermin or, in the course of estate management, other wildlife
(for more information see chapter 13);
iii. the humane killing of animals; and
iv. the shooting of animals to protect other animals or people.
3.40 However, the use of the phrase “in connection with” means that it is acceptable for
shooters to use expanding ammunition to zero their rifles with the ammunition they
will be using in the field provided it is for one or more of the four activities listed