Lee Enfield Bayonets

Pre 1945 action rifles. Muzzle loading.

Moderator: dromia

DL.

Lee Enfield Bayonets

#1 Post by DL. »

Has the price of bayonets gone up markedly in recent years?

When I started shooting an SMLE bayonet with quillion could be had for <£200, they are silly money now.

Likewise I fancied a No.5 bayonet, they too are reassuringly expensive.

Was the price hike sudden? Or was it more of a gradual increase that I simply did not notice?

I see that SLR bayonets are £100+ I remember them selling for £40!

My savings are paying 0.01% interest, I should have put my money into militaria instead!
GeeRam
Home club or Range: PSC, Bisley

Re: Lee Enfield Bayonets

#2 Post by GeeRam »

DL. wrote: Sat Sep 04, 2021 5:01 pm My savings are paying 0.01% interest, I should have put my money into militaria instead!
And this is exactly why prices of all types of collectibles are going up and up.

If interest rates went back up to 5-6% or more then the prices of classic cars, classic bikes, militaria or in fact pretty much anything considered a niche collectible would likely start to fall back a little.

There was no jump in prices of bayonets (or anything else) its just been creeping up year by year.
redcat
Past Supporter
Home club or Range: Teesdale P&R Club.

#3 Post by redcat »

I can recall seeing bayonets in antique shops in Edinburgh for 10/- each - that's 50p for those of you who don't remember old money.

Redcat
If you think you are a person of some importance, try ordering someone else's dog around.
PeterN

#4 Post by PeterN »

I paid £10 for my SMLE P07 bayonet at the Nottingham Arms Fair some years ago. Bayonets sometimes come up in the local auction house among all the other house clearance stuff. If you get a day when no-one is interested, you can pick up a bayonet quite cheaply compared to what a dealer will charge.
Regards
Peter.
GeeRam

#5 Post by GeeRam »

I got my P07 SMLE bayonet for free 25 years ago...........(sort of)