Enfield T4 zeroing problem.

Pre 1945 action rifles. Muzzle loading.

Moderator: dromia

Alpha1
Site Supporter Since 2020

Enfield T4 zeroing problem.

#1 Post by Alpha1 »

I have a T4 I thought it was time I started shooting it. It came fitted with none gun smithing scope rail. I fitted a night force scope to it and tok it to the range. I tried to zero it at 100 yards with no success. I asked some of the other guys who have more experience than me with scopes to zero it. They had no success. I stuck it back in the cabinet and forgot about it. To day I had access to a 25 yard range that allows you to shoot full bore so I took it with me. I managed to get it on the paper but at twenty five yards it shoots 4 inches high but I ran out of adjustment on the scope. Im thinking its the rail but I would appreciate any input from someone with more experience. Scopes are a dark art to me.
Alpha1

Re: Enfield T4 zeroing problem.

#2 Post by Alpha1 »

I took the scope off when I got home and removed the mount the mount has been shimmed this makes me think the previous owner may have had some issues with it.
Ovenpaa
Site Supporter Since 2015

#3 Post by Ovenpaa »

I would wind the elevation turret all the way back to zero, remove all of the shimming and bore sight it. Then add shimming to the rear to bring it down a suitable zero. Assuming the rail is at zero MOA for a 125mm ring centres and 20 minutes of elevation you need around 0.73mm and for 30 minutes just under 1.1mm. Of course the original rail and bracket may be displaying a significant variation already so it is worth taking the everything off, cleaning everything and attaching it again.

Shout if you need to know more.
/d

Du lytter aldrig til de ord jeg siger. Du ser mig kun for det tøj jeg har paa ...

Shed Journal
WelshShooter
Site Supporter Since 2016

#4 Post by WelshShooter »