Anybody here built a repro Mauser k98 sniper ?

Pre 1945 action rifles. Muzzle loading.

Moderator: dromia

breacher
Home club or Range: EBSC

Anybody here built a repro Mauser k98 sniper ?

#1 Post by breacher »

any????
http://www.phoenixtactical.co.uk

RFD 2043 Cambridgeshire
Mauserbill
Home club or Range: Range

Re: Anybody here built a repro Mauser k98 sniper ?

#2 Post by Mauserbill »

Hello
Yes I have built many for friends and club members.
Short rail, Turret and Long side rail variants
Also built Swedish M96 long and Husqvarna carbine snipers using short side rails

Mauserbill

The mid barrel ZF41 scope conversion of the rear sight was not a success even the German troopers did not like them
Would not recommend unless you want as a collection piece
Last edited by Mauserbill on Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
WelshShooter
Site Supporter Since 2016

#3 Post by WelshShooter »

I have no experience, but there is a k98 sniper with ZF31 scope for sale on guntrader. It's been on there for a while.
breacher

#4 Post by breacher »

Mauserbill wrote:Hello
Yes I have built many for friends and club members.
Short rail, Turret and Long side rail variants
Also built Swedish M96 long and Husqvarna carbine snipers using short side rails

Mauserbill

The mid barrel ZF41 scope conversion of the rear sight was not a success even the German troopers did not like them
Would not recommend unless you want as a collection piece
Found a very clean Norwegian refurbished k98 with what looks like an unfired 30-06 barrel. Blueing looks to be in great condition as does the laminated stock. None of the serial numbers match. I have a late 40's / early 50's scope which fits the criteria required for being "in the spirit" of the original.

I have gone with repro High Turret mounts with split rings.