Construction of the Enfield Paper Cartridge

Anything muzzle loading in here. Old and new, rifles, shotguns, pistols and even cannons!

Moderator: dromia

Tower75

Construction of the Enfield Paper Cartridge

#1 Post by Tower75 »

Hi guys and girls,

Thought I share this, you never know. It might be interesting. First disclaimer – I am not an expert, this is just a passion of mine.

This thread will show the construction and loading of the British and Empire rifle musket cartridge for the P1853 “Enfield” rifle musket and its subsequent patterns.

For those that are not familiar with the concept of the rifle musket, the “selling point” of the firearm is actually its ammunition. Hitherto to the introduction of the rifle musket armies of the World were primarily armed with smoothbore muskets – the interior of the barrel was completely smooth – the ammunition used was simply a lead ball and loose blackpowder, the ball was usually of a much smaller diameter then the bore of the barrel, for example, the “Brown Bess” had a bore of roughly .75ins, but the issued ammunition was a ball of between .67-.69 in diameter. Upon firing the ball would travel in the rough direction the barrel was pointed and had a tendency to wander in flight (just like a thrown tennis, or baseball), the average, accurate range of a smoothbore can be argued to be 100 yards

The rifle musket was a muzzle loading firearm still, but its barrel was rifled and it fired a conical lead “bullet” which had a hollow base. The bullet was smaller in diameter then the rifle’s bore, the reason for is – as with the smoothbore – is that a smaller projectile will load quicker and easier in a blackpowder-fouled barrel. However, due to the hollow base of the bullet, upon firing the gases from the powder expanded the “skirt” of the bullet’s base into the rifling, effectively sealing the escape of gasses. The rifling span the bullet and stabilised it in flight and almost increased the range of fire by 5 fold